The General Officer is an alumni of Indian Military Academy and was commissioned into 22nd Bn The Maratha Light Infantry on 13 Dec 1980 and commanded the Bn from May 1999 to Feb 2001 in Uri Sector (J&K) during OP VIJAY. The General Officer was born on 03 Sep 1959 at Srinagar in Jammu & Kashmir.

The General Officer has held a string of important command and staff appointments and took active part in many operations. He has also attended major prestigious courses like the Defence Services Staff College, Senior Command, Higher Command and National Defence College course in his career.

The General Officer has been an instructor in the prestigious Indian Military Academy. He has also held important appointments in various Formation Headquarters and Army Headquarters such as General Staff Officer grade 1 (MO 5 )and Director (MO 8A) in Military Operations Directorate, Colonel Military Secretary at HQ 1 Corps, Director of Perspective and Planning Directorate and Deputy Military Asst to Chief of Army Staff. He has commanded an Infantry Brigade in Kashmir Valley, has been Commandant of MARATHA LIGHT INFANTRY Regimental Centre, Commanded an Infantry Division in the North East. The General Officer served as ADG MO (Special Operations) and DG Infantry before taking over a prestigious Corps in the Northern Command.

The General Officer has also served in UN Mission in Mozambique from May 1993 to May 1994 and Sudan from Aug 2005 to Aug 2006 as Chiefs of Operations in both Missions.

For his distinguished services of an exceptionally high order he was awarded the PARAM VISHISHT SEVA MEDAL in year 2018,ATI VISHISHT SEVA MEDAL in year 2014, VISHISHT SEVA MEDAL in year 2008 and COAS Commendation Card in year 2006.

The General Officer took over the prestigious appointment of Colonel of the MARATHA LI from 01 May 2014 and is presently posted as Deputy Chief, IDS (OPS), IHQ of MoD (Army) wef 01 June 2019.

General Officer loves horses and is a good rider, also a bike enthusiast, he is married to Mrs Anmol Pannu and has two sons (Mr Ranjodh Singh and Mr Yuvraj Singh).